20140730-181024-65424595.jpg

Summer Citronella Candles

I have a love hate relationship with mossies. My skin attracts them but their bites are not the sort I like. It creates lots of big bulging kill-me-please itch !

Then I came across this idea from Rachel and it’s great, gonna give it a try when I get hold of that essential oil. I’m gonna do it indoors too. Why, cos I’m sensitive to them mossies. Recipe to keep them mossies away…

20140730-181316-65596401.jpg

Summer Citronella Candles

• Mason jars
• Floating candles
• Lemons and limes
• Citronella essential oil
• Fresh herbs
• Twine or ribbon

To assemble my candles, I first sliced up the lemons and limes.
The fruit will float in the jar, so I recommend adding them in last.
Place your fresh herbs in each jar (I used rosemary, lemon thyme, lavender and chamomile from my garden).
Fill the jar about half way with water and add about 10 drops of citronella oil to the herb and water mixture.
Next, add in the sliced citrus and fill the jar the rest of the way up with water.
Finally I added the floating candle and tied a piece of twine around each jar.

Place one or two candles at each table of your next outdoor party!

Source:
http://adventures-in-making.com/diy-summer-citronella-candles/

Leave a Reply

